The Farseer Trilogy

farseer trilogy

Of all the books I have ever read in my life, only two of them have succeeded in making me cry.  One was Wilson Rawls’s Where the Red Fern Grows.  The other was Robin Hobb’s book, Fool’s Errand.

Fool’s Errand is in fact the first book of Hobb’s second trilogy (called The Tawny Man Trilogy) that follows the life of a man named FitzChivalry Farseer.  While technically I am only recommending the first trilogy, The Farseer Trilogy, in this post, I highly recommend Tawny Man as well (my tears will bear witness).

Full of magic, adventure, intrigue and a twisting plot, The Farseer Trilogy might seem like any other fantasy story.  What distinguishes Hobb’s books from other fantasy novels is her dedication to detail: she creates an intricate, complex, and realistic world replete with its own variety of lands, unique customs, cultures and languages.  Hobb pays an even greater attention to her multilayered plot, and of course, breathes life into her characters in a way that is very seldom seen in any story—fantasy or not.  George R.R. Martin, author of Game of Thrones, says of her work: ‘Fantasy as it ought to be written… In today’s crowded fantasy market Robin Hobb’s books are like diamonds in a sea of zircons’.

Although I wholeheartedly recommend this trilogy to any person who loves a great story, I must also caution anyone who wishes to do so.  They are some of the most emotionally draining books I have ever read; remember how I said earlier that one of these books made me cry?  Hobb is intent on immersing readers into the life of FitzChivalry—which means that you are privy to his deepest fears, his greatest failures and his undeniable weaknesses—and even more, you care deeply about him and feel what he feels keenly, as if you are becoming him.  Against seemingly insurmountable odds, FitzChivalry is struck down again and again, but he always manages to get back up.  His is a tale of brokenness, of triumphs and failures, and hope.  Here is a detailed Amazon summary of the first novel of The Farseer Trilogy, entitled The Assassin’s Apprentice:

Young Fitz is the bastard son of the noble Prince Chivalry, raised in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s gruff stableman. He is treated as an outcast by all the royalty except the devious King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored in the arts of the assassin. For in Fitz’s blood runs the magic Skill—and the darker knowledge of a child raised with the stable hounds and rejected by his family.

As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood. Soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-shattering mission. And though some regard him as a threat to the throne, he may just be the key to the survival of the kingdom.


Post submitted by Michelle



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s