Where Do You Grow and Demonstrate Your Beliefs?

Candle in the Dark

When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?

With the end of the school year near and graduation around the corner for many, I’ve spent a fair amount of time recently talking to people and thinking about the future (also known as being a normal college student). I have found that working in this position and in this space on campus has also shed light on some of the things I believe in, or used to believe in.

As with most things that seem to be at an end, questions arise in one’s self and I can’t help but wonder what I’m doing here and what my purpose it. I’m not worried so much about the existential side of this, but rather what my in-the moment drive is. I’ve accepted that my beliefs would be tested and made to change but at this point I’m not sure if I have any more things to offer that will allow me to stand strong in solidarity.

My only hope is that in delving deeper into this muddled state-of-mind of mine and continuing to question myself, I will grasp these concrete things. Maybe then I will be able to stand with pillars of grounded ideas to build myself up into an activist, educator, teacher, learner, and compassionate human being; to allow my ideas to burst forth and truly live in this vast world of ours.

Post submitted by Kelly

Leave a Reply

