I Wish I Would Have Read This

old-letters-436503_640

**For more information on the inspiration of this piece please visit the prompt**

Dear 6 year old Gaby,

Hi, how are you? I’m writing you this letter because I want you to think for a moment of your future self. When I was a kid I used to go on breakfast runs with my dad just like you. Every Saturday morning my mother would wake me up and guide my hands through the arms of my jacket. Then she’d guide my feet through the holes in my shoes. At about 6:30 or so in the morning, we’d all be on our way to Universal City to drop my mom off at work. On our way back my dad, too tired from driving, would stop by McDonald’s and buy us both breakfast. I’ve been told something similar about you and your father. Did you enjoy those mornings?

I still remember going to McDonald’s with my dad. I can hear the polystyrene tray struggle as I try and take the lid off with my tiny hands. It was kind of a ritual for me, the way I’d open up the lid and look at the platter of food. First was the biscuit, the beautiful sweet biscuit. I remember taking short bites out of it every now and then, scared that I might eat it up too fast. Then I’d dabble with the hash browns, dipping them in ketchup. I loved to hear the edges crunch in my mouth. If I felt up for it, I’d try to finish the rest of the food, but my attempts were usually futile. The pancakes, eggs, and sausage patties weren’t much of a win for me. There was something in them that screamed “WE TASTE LIKE RUBBER AND PAIN” but I’m sure you understand what I mean.

Anyhow, the point is that 14 years ago, I used to go on breakfast runs with my dad just like you. Unfortunately, that is one of the few memories I have that isn’t riddled with um, less flattering moments. As a 20 year old, I wish I could remember more of those Saturday morning moments but the McDonald’s memory is the only one I’ve got.

Gaby, as a six year old this may be a difficult concept to understand but please try to. I’ve written you this letter as a plea. In 10 years time do you think you’ll remember everything you see or hear now? Odds are you probably wont, but here is where this letter comes in. There is a way that you can save more of your memories before they all disappear. You can keep a journal. I’m not sure if you’re into that sort of thing but trust me when I say that you will be, eventually. Just keep that idea as a thought. You don’t have to write about what happens to you everyday, just write about your favorite moments with dad. Maybe if he takes you to the park, or if he reads you a book, or if he takes you to the rental place down the street. Write about it, even if it’s just a few lines. Your future self would really appreciate it.

Well, I think I’ve annoyed you enough so I’ll let you go, just remember what I’ve said and keep it as a thought. Also, don’t ever buy jeans that are more than $100 unless they’re black, and never under any circumstances refuse nap time. Sleep whenever and where ever you can.

Sincerely,

A friend

Post by Gabriela

Leave a Reply

