Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari

sapiens

Believe me when I say that I’ve been waiting for the publication of Yuval Noah Harari’s book since I joined his free online course a few years ago. I had to wait in agony until the English version of the book was published. With publication after publication, first in Hebrew, then in German and Portuguese, I thought I’d never see the arrival of Yuval’s book. Then one day, I got an email from my old course professor announcing the release date for his book, Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind. I rushed to pre-order it, hoping that the book would come soon. When it finally arrived I opened the package with squirmy fingers.

My initial reactions were mixed. I hadn’t seen the U.S. cover before so I regarded it as plain and “not as cool as the Portuguese one.” At one point or another I opened the book and was surprised to find color images inside. I guess it was a nice little bonus, but the best part of the book wasn’t in it’s flashy cover or beautiful coloring, it was in its content.

From a very very brief introduction of the beginning of time to present day phenomena, Harari takes readers on a history centered around the human experience. Asking questions on human origins, human adaptability, and the future of humans on earth, Harari recaps how humans have arrived to their current standing in the animal kingdom. Sapiens has received praise from scholars all over the world and has become a best seller in the UK, Spain, Slovenia, Taiwan, and Israel. To date, the book has been translated into 26 languages, a feet not easy for any book to accomplish.

I recommend this book to anyone interested in the history of human species (yes multiple species of humans) and our current hopes for the future. The book is very much worth a reading.

Praise for Sapiens:

“The sort of book that sweeps the cobwebs out of your brain…Harari is an intellectual acrobat whose logical leaps will have you gasping with admiration.” – John Carey, The Sunday Times (LONDON)

“Engaging and informative….Extremely interesting.” – The Guardian (LONDON)

“An absorbing, provocative history of civilization…packed with heretical thinking and surprising facts. This riveting, myth-busting book cannot be summarized…you will simply have to read it.” – John Gray, Financial Times (LONDON)

sapiens

Leave a Reply

