How do you manage your compulsions?

2048px-TV_highquality

At this moment, I am watching a TV Show  (New Girl, if you must know) instead of writing my paper that is due really very soon. I know, it’s ironic: a writing counselor procrastinating on a writing assignment.  The thing is, I have a compulsion/an addiction. I watch TV shows when I feel anxious and don’t want to deal with my thoughts, which happens quite often.

Although people usually think of drugs and alcohol as the main addictions, there are many things that people can be addicted to, e.g. video games. Are there things that you feel compelled to do even when you don’t know why? If so, how do you deal with these compulsions?

Please comment so that we can all share our techniques!

Post submitted by Kanyin

Leave a Reply

