The Sun, The Moon, and The Stars by Junot Diaz

CVHj7ZFUAAEBv3e.jpg-large

As many people know, I am in love with anything and everything Junot Diaz related. My favorite book by him is of course This Is How You Lose Her. I left my signed copy of that book home since it’s so dear and special to me and I am not one of those who wants others to touch it or damage it. Having gone home this past weekend for Thanksgiving, I got a chance to go through the book once again and love it even more.

My favorite story has to be “The Sun, The Moon, and The Stars” which also happens to be the first story of the book. We get introduced to Yunior and the rocky relationship he has with his girlfriend Magdalena and the conflicts that have risen. We see the deterioration of the relationship unveil in Yunior’s birth place of the Dominican Republic.

What intrigued me the most about this story was Yunior’s thought process. His thought process in not being able to recognize the faults in his actions as well the hope he feels in being able to fix the relationship, was one of the most honest stories I have personally read. His identity as a immigrant and a young man of color are prevalent in his thought process that I felt like I knew Yunior. I felt as if I were the one in a relationship with him and as if I finally got him to actually tell me how he truly felt inside. This story was one of the few stories that had me thinking for a few minutes before being able to move on to the next story.

I will end with my favorite quote of the story that always hits my heart. “And that’s when I know it’s over. As soon as you start thinking about the beginning, it’s the end.”

Leave a Reply

