The 30/30 Challenge for National Poetry Month

National Poetry Month

If you didn’t know already, it’s April; which means it is National Poetry Month. A whole month dedicated to celebrate poetry and it’s magic. National Poetry Month started in 1996 by the Academy of American Poets. The month is filled with many different events including readings and open mics.

One of the challenges that many poets take on is the 30/30 challenge. The 30/30 challenge consists of writing a poem every day for the month of April. It’s both fun and challenging and requires a lot of discipline.

Ever since I was 16, I have attempted the 30/30 challenge. I can usually get to the third day before I fall off completely but this year I have decided to actually go through with this month and keep myself accountable. Whether I complete a one sentence poem or a full on four stanza poem, I want to be able to enjoy something that I feel I do not get to enjoy enough of. There is no better way to improve my writing than by writing poems everyday.

What I found most difficult about trying to complete the challenge was starting to writing.  I would try and freewrite and found myself writing about the exact same situation just in different manners that I felt were repetitive. I am thankful that I have amazing writer friends that are also willing to take the challenge and have graciously shared their prompts with the world. You can check out some of some of my amazing friends’ work and prompts that they have created on their collective’s Ghostlines Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

