To Be Continued

Well . . . I didn’t get the job. That’s for certain.

Shortly after my WSP interview, my spirit and confidence just evaporated. And with the imminent rejection letter I knew I would get? Pfft. I could just say goodbye to confidence for the year.

At that time, I was working as one of the CPO Study Hall Van Drivers, and I really liked that job (although exhausting, I won’t lie). However, about a quarter and half into the school year, I received an email from CPO stating that the Writing Success Program was hiring one additional Writing & Creativity Counselor for the rest of the school year. With my past experience being  a tutor for various places along with my goal of becoming a high school English teacher, I knew I had to apply. So I turned in my application, was contacted a few days after for an interview, and with a big inhale of “you got this Pegah,” I went into the interview.

I came out like a deflated balloon.

I’m not really sure what happened. I thought I did horrible for my interview. But perhaps it was my zealous disposition in believing that I could get the job that caused me to critically question if I was even fit for it in the first place. I attempted to not think about when I would receive my rejection email and tried to go on with life as usual, pushing the whole fantasy of possibly working for WSP aside.

However, one night as I was driving for my job, I received a call and was told that the Writing Success Program had officially offered me a position as a Writing & Creativity Counselor! I was ecstatic. I knew I was hired for a reason, and it made me feel good knowing that all my hard work really had paid off. But while I was lost in those good thoughts, a small, bubbling emotion started to rise in my stomach. What if I wasn’t good enough? What if they believe they made a huge mistake after hiring me?

And so began my journey of having one of the most rewarding, passionate, and challenging jobs I have ever had.

Working as a counselor for WSP, I have gained so much more than I thought I would have. The development, the relationships, the hard work and effort. At first, I was terrified of starting the job. I felt like the runt of the group since I began in the middle of the year while all the other counselors already knew the ins and outs of WSP.

13076779_10208673478809362_7325360088950188759_n.jpg
Totally not a photoshopped picture of me and the rest of the staff.

I doubted myself and my skills as a counselor. But session after session, week after week, I started to realize my capabilities as someone who can.

I knew that when I had to start working for WSP, creativity would be a big component into the mechanics of the project. Because WSP values creativity so much, I was challenged to exercise it. At times it felt like I was working out a muscle in my body that I had not used in so long. Ever since I started blogging, I’ve explored the various ways in which I can convey my ideas and beliefs around creativity and I believe it has made a world of difference in how I like to express my ideas. Instead of the same old same old, how can I approach topics in a different light? How can I take a stance on issues in a more dynamic way?

With the importance of creativity, came the importance of having a voice. WSP has undoubtedly guided me into establishing what I would like to the is the beginning of a strong voice. A voice that holds everything mentioned above and everything I have yet to learn. Voice in writing is probably the most important factor into distinguishing great writing to just ‘okay’ writing. Your voice should contain an essence of you, translated into words.

IMG_6635
Picture taken at our WSP Retreat

Lastly, working with WSP has made realize how much I love education, creativity, writing, and teaching. This is what I stand for; this is what I love. Because I can help students with writing. I can become a more professional individual. I can become more confident. And most importantly, I can be comfortable with me: Pegah Mahmoud.

Leave a Reply

