Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I wish I had a time turner right about now. Week five feels more like week seven already! During winter break, I read J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts One and Two. I picked it up because it seemed easy to read since it’s written in play format. I find plays easier to read because the reader knows who’s saying what lines and the process, for me at least goes much faster. I grew up watching Harry Potter movies on the screen, and the last movie made me wonder what kind of father Harry would be, how would Hermione and Ron’s marriage turn out… Once I began reading, I was immediately drawn to their children because they were more interesting.

On the first page there is a description of what is going on before the reader dives into the character’s voices.

A busy and crowded station. Full of people trying to go somewhere. Amongst the hustle and bustle, two large cages rattle on top of two laden trolleys. They’re being pushed by two boys, JAMES POTTER and ALBUS POTTER, their mother, GINNY, follows after. A thirty-seven-year-old man, HARRY, has his daughter, LILY, on his shoulders.

Then Rowling, Tiffany and Thorne jump into the scene for example, in the first page, Albus (Harry’s son) states, “Dad. He keeps saying it.” The reader is curious to know what Albus brother James is saying to Albus that is bugging him enough to tell his father. I really like how the writers are able to capture the reader’s attention on the very first page. Overall, the descriptions help the reader imagine the setting and mood of the place.

Aside from the setting and mood, the voices of the characters in the novel are my favorite. Draco’s son projects his emotions far more than he does. Scorpius introduces himself to Albus in the following quote, “Hi Scorpius. I mean, I’m Scorpius. You’re Albus. I’m Scorpius. And you must be…” which is opposite of the first encounter his father had with Harry. Scorpius also says, “THANK YOU FOR STAYING FOR MY SWEETS, ALBUS!” which tells the reader that Scorpius really wants to be friends with Albus. The character of Scorpius adds humor and a playful tone in the play.

The friendship between Albus and Scorpius is so strong that it brings together Harry and Draco. Harry and Draco were always in a dispute and would appear to be each others enemies. Therefore, I could never picture Harry and Draco go through the adventures that their sons experience. It also showcases how the past lives of Harry and Draco ultimately affect their children’s lives. For example, Albus has a reputation to live up to, and Scorpius personality does not match that of his father. This part of the play is crucial in understanding what both Albus and Scorpius are trying to achieve through out the play, which is something I will let you discover. 

Leave a Reply

