Prompt 15: Mother’s Day Poem

May 14th is Mother’s Day, and what better way to express your love to your mom than writing a poem dedicated to her? This weekend, write an ode, haiku, or free verse poem about your mom or mothers in general.

This one goes out to my mom!

Do you remember, Mum?
When I blew my bubble bubble gum
bigger than my head
then it popped and Dad said
we had to cut off all my hair
but you said don’t you dare
you took care of my hair
with a little trial and error
my hair was gum-free
and my heart full of glee

Mum, do you remember?
I think it was December
you woke up at dawn
to help me put my makeup on
you fixed my too-big dress
and my hair which was a mess
I’m so grateful
you helped me feel beautiful
thank you for helping me feel
like a princess for real

Mum, do you know?
I love you so

 


Weekend Writing Warrior rules:

You have until the next prompt is posted the following week to write your response.

You may submit your writing by:

  1. Posting your answer in the comment section below.
  2. Emailing hkim@cpo.ucla.edu
    1. Include a short note in the email indicating whether or not you want your writing to be posted on the blog for you (if for whatever reason you wish to be anonymous or you do not have a WordPress account) or if you would like to work with the content editor of The Waterhole to turn your response into a guest blog piece (see examples of guest blogs).
  3. Commenting on the corresponding Facebook post of this writing prompt on our WSP Facebook page.

To submit prompts for the Weekend Writing Warrior, email hkim@cpo.ucla.edu.

Leave a Reply

