Opinion: Tarot and Self Care

Hearing the word “tarot” brings about a plethora of sensations and ideas: fear, intrigue, possibility, witchcraft. The cards can be used in so many ways for different purposes. I use tarot as a tool for self care. 

Like many UCLA students, I feel constantly stressed, tired, and overexerted. These feelings fluctuate throughout the year, and it becomes a somewhat enjoyable ride once I start to see the fruits of my labor. However, it is a repeatedly and continually bumpy ride. When I feel too overwhelmed or stuck, I turn to the cards (a very mysterious statement, I know). 

I usually do a quick reading for myself, where I choose three cards that respectively represent the situation, the obstacle, and the lesson. The cards that are randomly drawn in each position have adaptable meanings that you–as the reader–have to apply and decipher for your particular reading. The cards help me analyze my situation and look for possible paths I could take to resolve my conflict. The cards don’t tell you an exact future or solution, but they give guidance and help you understand your situation a bit better so that you could possibly achieve (or avoid) a certain future. Even if you think tarot is just ridiculous, taking the time to assess one’s situation and take a break from panicking is great for mental health. 

As an English major, I have always loved stories. The cards follow the fool’s journey, which can be applied to any film, real life event, video game, and well, you get the idea. The universality of the archetypes depicted on each card have contributed to the popularity and longevity of tarot. This is where the joy of tarot comes from for me! I love to use the meanings of each card to meld together a story that can offer help to a person. I could go on and on about the beauty of the craft, but I will instead leave you with a mysterious note.

Buy a deck, or get a reading from a friend who has one. You’ll understand the beauty and wisdom within you that tarot unlocks. Also, if you book an appointment with me and ask politely, I would be more than happy to give you a reading.

Leave a comment