Opinion: Kickstarter

If you have been reading my blog posts, you probably know that I am a fan of tarot. I am fairly new to the world of tarot and I entered it with a great appreciation for both the Romani tarot tradition and the beautiful artwork of each unique deck. Today, I will be sharing an amazing way to gain access to more independent artists’ work!

Welcome to Kickstarter!

Some of you may already know about this website, but it was very new to me when I first learned about it just a little while ago. I usually spent my time on Etsy or Instagram to shop online while supporting artists, then Kickstarter totally changed the game for me! The website allows you to help fund kickstarters for so many different creations: tarot cards, video games, pins, board games, plays, films, and so much more! This way, an artist can actually get the funds they need to produce their work and share it with the world. 

Be aware of the risks that come with backing a project, though! If a project doesn’t meet its goal, you won’t be charged for the funds you gave them, but you won’t get the product you were so excited about. You also might end up waiting for your product to be delivered to you way later than you were expected to receive it. I highly recommend reading the “Risks and Challenges” section on each individual project before backing!

Here’s the link to the website! Enjoy your time on Kickstarter!

Leave a comment