What’s Happening: A New Day, A New POTUS

Let’s be real, 2021 hasn’t exactly had a great “running start”.

The New Year wasn’t quite what anyone was used to, a rise of COVID cases was worrisome with a new strain being reported in different parts of the world, and to top it all off for those concerned with American politics, a storming of the Capitol. 

Yeah, it was hard for me to focus on anything that day too.

But that day came and went. Talks of impeachment arose, the world news was abuzz with fears and speculation of further coups, insurrections, martial law, all in the middle of the pandemic.

I’ll acknowledge my privilege in saying this, but what I wouldn’t give for a slow news day…

We’re in a world of new days, right? “Joy cometh in the morning” is how my youth pastor would say it.

President Biden was inaugurated on the 20th, the other guy went to sunny Mar-a-Lago, a slew of executive orders later, and here we are.

To be frank, I still don’t quite know what to make of it. For one thing, I suppose I should be grateful. Democracy survived another day, vaccine distribution is slow-going but it’s going, and there is some hope for some of the damage done over the past few years to be reversed.

But it would be naive of me to say that all is well. The other guy left quite a legacy behind, one that’ll take time to counteract. To no one’s surprise, white supremacists still beget white supremacy in both cultural and political contexts. The virus is still here with a great many people still resisting any efforts to protect their neighbors. The earth is still on fire. And in my personal opinion, it’s debatable whether the Democratic powers that be will have the will or tenacity to do what needs to be done to address these issues.

Well, it’s a little early to tell. But at the end of the day, all we have in the present is the present, and the present is just one moment followed by another, and so on.

Today, I’ll choose to enjoy the moment, if for nothing else than to bid a good omen for the future.

Here’s hoping.

Leave a comment