Janet Brown Memorial Week – Laysha

I joined the Writing Success Program as a counselor back in 2020 when we were entering a year of quarantine. I wanted an opportunity to engage and build community with other students despite the remote nature of the school year. Through my time as a counselor, especially surrounded by my coworkers, I have become extremely appreciative of the work students do for retention and establishing a space to amplify student voices through their academics and as individuals. I am beyond proud to be able to work in an environment that from the start has encouraged and prioritized the collaboration between counselors and students—aiding students to become advocates for themselves and centering their goals and needs. It is people like Janet Brown, who by developing much needed spaces have helped foster community on campus. As we remember the life and legacy of Janet Brown look to educators in your own academic journey that have made a difference that transcends generations.

Leave a comment